Rockwall County Drunk Driving Lawyers
Drunk driving is illegal throughout the United States, but any Rockwall County drunk driving lawyers will tell you that Texas prosecutors are particularly aggressive in prosecuting defendants for this crime. This is why you’ll want to consult with drunk driving lawyers in Rockwall County when you’re facing such charges.
When you meet with drunk driving lawyers in Rockwall County TX, they should be upfront about the charges you can expect to face if convicted of this crime. Rockwall County drunk driving lawyers should be clear these potential penalties are only recommended sentencing guidelines.
Penalties That Rockwall County Drunk Driving Lawyers May Tell You About
Texas Penal Code § 49.04, et seq. outlines the sentencing guidelines that judges should impose when a defendant is convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). The punishments that drunk driving lawyers in Rockwall County TX should tell you about include:
- Your first DWI offense: May carry with it up to a 180-day jail sentence, a year-long driver’s license suspension and $2,000 in fines.
- A second DWI offense: A conviction may result in your spending up to a year in jail, $4,000 in fines and a year or more in fines.
- Third-time DWI offenses: Your third DWI conviction may result in incarceration from two to 10 years. Your license could also be suspended for up to two years, and you could be ordered to pay a $10,000 fine.
Rockwall County drunk driving lawyers would also tell you that judges can order you to pay an annual fee of as much as $2,000 over three years if you wish to preserve your driver’s license once convicted on DWI charges.
That’s not where potential DWI-related charges end in Texas. Drunk driving lawyers in Rockwall County TX understand that your refusal to perform a sobriety test may result in DWI charges. Operating a car while intoxicated with a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle or with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at 0.15% or higher may also result in similar charges.
Why You Should Consider Contacting Us
Our Rockwall County drunk driving lawyers have extensive experience helping defendants like you fight back against life-altering DWI charges. Give us a call at Azad & Barlow, PLLC, by dialing (972) 535-4484 or email us using our contact form to learn more about penalties you’re facing in your case and how to mitigate them.